President’s Medal

President Scott S. Cowen established the Tulane University President’s Medal in 1999. The medal is awarded at the sole discretion of the president to individuals who have distinguished themselves by their actions and who have contributed in some manner to the well-being of Tulane University or the city of New Orleans. Unlike the honorary degree, this award may commemorate deeds other than academic achievement. Designed by Professor Emeritus Franklin Adams, the front of the medal features a sculpted TU symbol. This university emblem was first used as an architectural symbol on the exterior of two historic buildings on the uptown campus, Tilton Hall and Robert C. Cudd Hall.

Medal Recipients

Drew Brees
New Orleans Saints Quarterback

Michael White
Jazz Artist and Educator

Troy “Trombone Shorty” Andrews
Musician and Founder of Horns for Schools

Judith Rodin
Rockefeller Foundation President

Wendell Pierce
Treme Star

Wynton Marsalis
Jazz Artist

Anderson Cooper
CNN Anchor and Author

Rita Benson LeBlanc*
Part Owner and Executive Vice President of the New Orleans Saints

Gregg Williams*
Defensive Coordinator of the New Orleans Saints

Jonathan Vilma*
Team Captain of the New Orleans Saints and Pro Bowl Linebacker

Ellen DeGeneres
Host of The Ellen DeGeneres Show

James Carville
National Political Commentator

Mary Matalin
National Political Commentator

His Highness Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al-Thani
Amir of the State of Qatar

Brian Williams
Managing Editor and Anchor of the NBC Nightly News

John Breaux
United States Senator

Jacques Chirac
President of France

Karlem “Ducky” Riess
Professor and Marshal Emeritus

William Safire
New York Times Columnist

Corinne Lindy Claiborne Boggs
Former U.S. Representative from Louisiana and Ambassador to the Vatican

Marian Wright Edelman
President, Children’s Defense Fund

Walter Isaacson
Editorial Director, Time Magazine

Cokie Roberts
ABC Co-Anchor, This Week with Sam Donaldson and Cokie Roberts

* On behalf of the New Orleans Saints organization